WTB a little help

So over at Kill Ten Rats their header image changes every time you hit their site or refresh your browser window. How can you put revolving images up like that? Let me know!

6 responses to “WTB a little help

  1. Hmmm… well as far as I know they’re probably using a php server side bit of code that randomly changes the images. I remember having something like that on one of my old webpages. But I don’t believe you’re going to get something like that out of wordpress, so you could just save a few different images you like that are the same dimensions and then load all of the images into a .gif animator, set durations and there you go. It will change on it’s own.

  2. Well after looking at their page, maybe there is something included on the server side to do that. I would just ask them how they did it.

  3. That question goes to Ethic. He’s the one who does that.

  4. If you can edit your templates (and I’m pretty sure you should be able to, I messed around with Griwell’s), then there is a javascript that works to rotate images. I used it on my own site for a while until I got redesign-itis and changed the layout. Not sure how it would work posting the code in here; it’s one I grabbed from Hotscripts.com IIRC.

    Sorry for the ugly URL I’m about to paste, but this is the script I used and it worked well for me. Should take you directly to the page with the script itself.

    http://www.cgiscript.net/cgi-script/csNews/csNews.cgi?database=js_random_items%2edb&command=viewone&id=41&op=t

    Let me know if you have any questions, I can try to help further, although it’s pretty easy to use. Not sure about the linkage though.

  5. I use the WordPress K2 theme which has it built in. There are also some plug-ins that will do it, you just have to dig around.

    Glad you like it!

  6. thanks for all your comments, I will mess around with it some time this weekend and figure it out.

    Much ❤

    Now I just need to design a few banners.

Leave a Reply

